02nd February 2021

Our AGM was postponed for health and safety reasons (Covid restrictions) but the committee remain active behind the scenes with occasional "Zoom" meetings. The committee are looking at the feasibility of holding some race days (single day sporting events) in 2021 and members will be updated nearer the time.


Also the membership renewals are now due. We have introduced PAYPAL as an alternative modern electronic payment method. Whilst we have not had the opportunity to hold a championship type racing calendar last year due to Covid, we still encourage members to keep their membership "paid up" and current to enable the society to run with the necessary insurance cover etc. This insurance is also vital when members go testing outside of the formal racing events.


Hopefully the recent mass vaccination program which seems to have got off to a rapid start, will consign this virus to a much lesser threat over the coming months.


However, recent Covid Virus mutant strains, are proving problematic, so we remain very cautious, particularly in light of the fact that our society does have a high proportion of elderly members and people in the higher risk groups. Therefore we remain "closed" as far as normal racing is concerned. We will update this situation once we are further "out of the woods". 

Last years racing calendar and annual championship was regretfully cancelled. As soon as it is appropriate and safe for us to have a get together we will put the wheels in motion. Vaccine roll out should hopefully see a big improvement!

Many members have expressed a strong desire (like me) to get back on the powerboat racing starting block. Lets hope we can enjoy some normality as soon as it is safe, and members hopefully have the maximum protection 2-5 weeks after their second jab! Lockdown release is scheduled for 21st June, a clearer path forward should be more certain by then.

In the mean time, stay safe, continue to observe the latest government advice and keep social distancing, sanitise hands, wear a face mask, keep your social distance and avoid contact with others.

If you experience any of the virus symptoms, please stay at home and self isolate.

Keep upto date with the latest information from the many government briefings, web advice channels and associated media. 

Santa Claus brought me a nice surprise to renew vigour to my D Class Boat. These DM Tuned special  engines are brought to us through Prestwich Model Centre click HERE for details. Designed for Deep Vee boats and the like, they should produce more torque lower down the rev range whilst still giving plenty of power and top end revs. Can't wait to test this soon once we get back to running again. Pic below shows the engine going into my PMC Saturn (Patriot).  ENGINE IS CODED TK7 on PMC Tiger King Engine page. (Hull, Pipe and hardware all supplied from PMC).
TK head.jpg
TK no box.jpg
TK inside.jpg